RSS Feed

Coca-Cola Cakes

My moms entire side of her family has lived in the south, Mississippi, Arkansas and Tennessee, for as long as I can remember. In fact, I was born in Memphis, Tennessee, but that’s beside the point.

My grandma has always made the best homemade pies I’ve ever had, as well as the best cornbread. One cake that’s she’s made for as long as I can remember is a coke cake, made with coca-cola and it is delish

Here’s the recipe:
•1 cup coca-cola
•1/2 cup buttermilk
•1 cup softened butter
•1 3/4 cup sugar
•2 eggs
•2 tsp vanilla
•2 cup flour
•1/4 cup cocoa
•1 tsp baking soda
•1 1/2 cup mini marshmallows

-Combine coke and buttermilk and set aside

-Cream butter, add sugar til blended and then add eggs until blended

-Combine flour, cocoa, and baking soda. Add to butter mixture alternately with cola mixture. Be sure to begin and end with the flour. Mix just until blended

-Stir in marshmallows and bake 30-35 minutes at 350°

This cake has always been one of my favorite cakes, especially when my grandma makes it. Although I have been able to replicate it pretty well, nothing beats grandma’s baking 🙂

Leave a Reply

