RSS Feed

Pumpkin spice cake

Every year around this time, I start getting requests from all of my friends asking for pumpkin spice cake. The recipe that I use makes the most delicious and moist cake. I’m pretty sure that last year alone, I made a pumpkin spice cake (sometimes 2) a week. A few years ago, I had found a recipe that was pretty good but the next couple times I made it, I altered it a little bit. I also use a homemade cream cheese frosting because it tends to be richer, creamier and way more delicious.

Earlier today, I decided to really get into the fall spirit and make some cakes for my friends. The recipe is as follows, but I will disclose that it makes a lot of cake batter! For example, today I made 24 mini cupcakes, 12 regular sized cupcakes, a 4-inch round cake and a 6-inch round cake

•2 cups flour
•2 tsp baking soda
•3 tsp baking powder
•1/4 tsp salt
•2 tsp cinnamon
•2 cups sugar
•3/4 cup oil
•1 tsp vanilla
•4 eggs
•2 cups (canned) pumpkin
•2 cups chopped walnuts (optional)

-Sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. Set aside

-Mix sugar, oil, and vanilla. Blend in eggs one at a time. Mix in pumpkin

-Gradually mix in the flour mixture

-Bake about 30 minutes at 350° depending on the pan sizes

A lot of my friends really like my cream cheese frosting so I tend to make a little extra. I also don’t usually measure how much powdered sugar I use. I’m also a big fan of cream cheese so I usually use a lot.

•1/2 cup butter
•12 oz cream cheese
•2 tsp vanilla
•2-3 cups powdered sugar

-Cream butter and cream cheese. Gradually add vanilla and powdered sugar to taste and consistency

Personally when I make pumpkin spice cakes, I don’t usually use fondant to decorate them because I feel that the sugary taste of the fondant distracts from the cake and frosting.
These are some of the first pumpkin spice cakes that I made. They were for my mom while we carved pumpkins a few years ago

20111020-211018.jpg

20111020-211038.jpg

These are the last few cupcakes that i made and a school spirited cake that I made today 🙂

20111020-212028.jpg

20111020-212140.jpg

Leave a Reply

